Connect with us


Get to Know the Exposure 2023 Winners



Here are the winners of the major events in Exposure 2023, an annual skateboarding competition for women, trans, non-binary and other gender-diverse individuals.

Bowl Open-Pro

1st: Lilly Erickson
2nd: Jordyn Barratt
3rd: Bryce Wettstein

Vert Open-Pro 

1st: Kihana Ogawa
2nd: Bryce Wettstein
3rd: Juno Matsuoka

Street Open-Pro

1st: Paige Heyn
2nd: Kylie Frank
3rd: Ria Tanno

The first Exposure in 2012 was inspired by the Underexposed documentary, which was created by Exposure co-founder and Olympian Amelia Brodka.

The documentary highlighted the lack of opportunities for female skateboarders at the time, as women’s divisions had been removed from all major skate events. This made it difficult for the best female skateboarders in the world to secure supportive sponsors.

Therefore, it was crucial to create a new space within the sport for both professional female, trans and nonbinary skateboarders, as well as amateurs looking to be introduced to skateboarding.

Exposure started as an annual skateboarding competition that was inclusive to girls, women, trans and nonbinary people from all over the globe. The competition hosted events in park, street and vert disciplines.

As the event grew in popularity, skaters traveled from as far as Japan, South Africa, Australia, Brazil, and across Europe to compete in the annual competition. The initial field of 32 female competitors grew to 230 competitors by 2020.

The prize purse for the competition also saw substantial growth. By 2016, Exposure offered the largest prize purse in women’s skateboarding. Legends such as Tony Hawk, Andrew Reynolds, Steve Caballero, and Christian Hosoi regularly show their support on deck.

The event also raises awareness and donates proceeds to a local shelter for survivors of domestic violence.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Giovanni Vianna’s Top 5 SLS Scores of 2023



Giovanni Vianna earned his first Street League Skateboarding Super Crown title last year. Will he be able to defend his crown in the 2024 SLS Tour?

Let’s rewind to how Giovanni was able to push his way up to get the Super Crown.

In the Chicago and Sydney stops, he managed to land in the nine club in the knockout rounds, but they weren’t enough to get him to the finals.

But come the Super Crown Championships, he was able to land three nine-club scores, with 9.4 being the highest, enough to snatch the crown from his closest rival, Vincent Milou.

Watch how it all went down in the video above.

Continue Reading


The 2024 SLS Tour: Bigger and Better



The SLS Tour will return bigger and better in 2024. Up to $1.8 million prize purse is at stake, with $100,000 to go to the Super Crown Champions.

The tour is also adding more stops for a total of eight, including three SLS “Apex” spot-based events. Regular stops include Paris, San Diego, Australia (TBA), and Tokyo.

The SLS Super Crown Championships 2024 will be again held in São Paulo, Brazil, on December 14-15.

The SLS Tour 2024 will kick off at Adidas Arena, Paris, France, on February 24. Tickets are now available on the SLS website.

Continue Reading


Rayssa Leal’s Top 5 Scores of SLS 2023



Before the first stop of Street League Skateboarding this February, let’s look back to how Rayssa Leal managed to land her top 5 scores of 2023.

Rayssa kicked off the 2023 season with a win at the Chicago stop and finished with a Super Crown in São Paulo. It was her second Super Crown win.

She is surely someone to watch out for in the 2024 SLS Tour, which will commence on February 24 at the Adidas Arena in Paris.

Continue Reading

How To


Video Archive